Autumn in the Tuileries Garden

Javeria Khan
 In Article de Javeria, Article de Javeria en anglais, Culture, TimeOut, TourDeFrance

Article aussi en: fr

For those looking for a place to relax, have a picnic, pass the time, or even have a jog, all while enjoying nature, the Tuileries Garden, located in the 1st arrondissement of Paris is a great choice.

The Tuileries Garden gets its name from the tile factories, or “tuile” in French, that existed before Queen Catherine de Medici built the Palace of Tuileries in their place in 1564. This palace no longer exists, but plans are underway to reconstruct the place from scratch.

The garden houses two beautiful ponds with fountains in the centre. One usually finds people sitting around them, relaxing, or feeding the ducks.

If one is a connoisseur of the arts, one can also be bewildered by the 20 sculptures made by the French sculptor Aristide Maillol (1861-1944). Another sculpture is that by Auguste Rodin (1840-1917) called Le Baiser or “the kiss’.

The Garden of Tuileries separates the Louvre Museum from the Place de la Concorde. The Arc de Triomphe du Carrousel stands in between the Louvre Museum and the Garden. This Arc was constructed in around 1806 and is an homage to the success of Napoleon in his military campaigns.

No doubt this garden is extremely beautiful, just like the many other gardens that embellish Paris with their colours and fragrances. I happened to visit the gardens in November, and since autumn is my favourite season, I could not help but be enamoured by the exquisiteness of nature that this garden has to offer during this season.

 

My visit to the garden inspired me to write a few lines:

Start typing and press Enter to search

L’automne dans le Jardin de Tuileries

Javeria Khan
 Dans Article de Javeria, Article de Javeria en anglais, Culture, TimeOut, TourDeFrance

Article aussi en: en

Pour ceux qui cherchent un endroit pour se détendre, pique-niquer, passer le temps ou même faire un jogging, tout en profitant de la nature, le jardin des Tuileries, situé dans le 1er arrondissement de Paris, est un excellent choix.

Le jardin des Tuileries tient son nom des tuileries qui existaient avant que la reine Catherine de Médicis ne construise le palais des Tuileries à leur place en 1564. Ce palais n’existe plus, mais des plans sont en cours pour le reconstruire.

Le jardin abrite deux beaux bassins avec des fontaines au centre. On trouve généralement des gens assis autour d’eux, se détendant ou nourrissant les canards.

Si vous êtes un connaisseur des arts, laissez-vous émerveillé par les 20 sculptures du sculpteur français Aristide Maillol (1861-1944). Une autre sculpture très célèbre est celle d’Auguste Rodin (1840-1917) intitulée Le Baiser.

Le jardin des Tuileries sépare le musée du Louvre de la place de la Concorde. L’Arc de Triomphe du Carrousel se situe entre le musée du Louvre et le jardin. Cet arc a été construit vers 1806 et rend hommage au succès de Napoléon dans ses campagnes militaires.

 

Nul doute que ce jardin est extrêmement beau, tout comme les nombreux autres jardins qui embellissent Paris de ses couleurs et de ses parfums. Il m’est arrivé de visiter les jardins en novembre et, l’automne étant ma saison préférée, je ne pouvais m’empêcher d’être séduit par la nature exquise que ce jardin a à offrir pendant cette saison.

Ma visite au jardin m’a inspiré quelques vers de poésie :

Ecriver et appuyer sur la touche enter du clavier pour lancer la recherche